Hacking It

As a dedicated thrifter I have a complicated relationship with vintage clothes stores. I often take a look at what they’re offering and then move on to my favorite thrift spots convinced that I can find anything they sell for a fraction of the price. Most of the time this is true but sometimes I run across something unique that’s hard to resist.

For instance this Donegal tweed hacking jacket.

I find plenty of good tweed in thrift shops but not in the hacking jacket style. I don’t ride horses but I do ride a bicycle and this jacket will do nicely on chilly fall days, which I’m hoping are just around the corner.

The gray tweed is flecked with bits of color, sky blue, orange and brown. Details include a close to the body fit for warmth and action. Slanted (hacking) pocket and ticket pocket.

hacking and ticket pockets

It has a high three button stance with a throat latch which allows the coat to buttoned up at the collar, crossing one lapel over the other, keeping out the wind on those downhill glides.

throat latch

closed lapelsThe deep cut, 12 inches, of the rear vent allows for comfort in the saddle.

rear vent

The label indicates that its the real deal. Made in England from H. Kauffman and Sons. Kauffman’s, from what I was able to dig up on the internet, was a purveyor of riding clothes and gear for New York’s equestrian class. Check this link for more info. Also, dig that radiant blue lining!

H. Kauffman & Sons

This was more expensive than jackets I pick up thrifting but hundreds less than what I would pay for a similar new piece from Ralph Lauren or Brooks Brothers. And theirs might not have the solid construction and pedigree of this one.

The advantage of vintage stores over thrift is that if the propritor has a good eye and shares your taste you can find lots of good stuff at somewhat decent prices (compared to full retail) without having to wade through the junk that clutters your average thrift. However, I’m the type that enjoys the hunt for the dimond in the rough as well as the rock bottom prices that thrift shopping delivers.  Unlike my thrift haunts I will happily divluge the name of the vintage shop where I bought this – Rock It Again – located on U St NW.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment