The 99.6% Discount

Leave it to J. Press to deliver the goods. I like this black watch jacket from their Presidential line.

 J. Press BlackwatchI can’t argue with these specs from their website- Classic Trim Fit, 3B Sack with center hook vent, 5/16″ stitches, 2 patch and flap pockets, 1 open patch pocket, and leather buttons. Made in the U.S.A.  But I do draw a line at the price, $980.00.  So, what to do?

The answer is to stumble upon a similar jacket in one of my thrift spots.

Black watch flannel, union-made in the USA for JoS. A. Bank, 3 button sack, 2 flap patch pockets, 1 chest pocket. Metal buttons, not leather, which is kind of a drag but I can’t complain, in a 3/2 roll.

Now, I realize JoS. A. Bank has lost its way in recent years/decades. And even back in the day some considered it a poor man’s Brooks Brothers. But I often find decent quality goods from them, most likely from the late seventies/early eighties, in local thrifts. I should do a whole separate post on some of that stuff. I think I have a soft spot for them because they have local roots, specifically Baltimore. I like to think that the cast of Diner wore JoS. A. Bank.

Anyways, this coat was priced at $8.00, but that day all sport coats in the store were 50% off, ergo I got it for 4 whole dollars. So it’s like getting the J.Press jacket for $976 dollars off, or at a 99.6% discount. Right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment